"Colgate Thirteen" Founders' Album

   Recorded in the Studio of G.Schirmer, Inc., 1942

Every member of the Colgate Thirteen past, present, and future stands on the broad musical shoulders of our founders.

Though the original group of thirteen was only together for five short months in the summer and fall of 1942, they found the time and resources to preserve some of their music on fragile 78rpm acetate records—15 songs on 3 discs. Only 13 copies were ever pressed of these recordings, one set for each of the founders.

Until recently, it was believed there were no complete sets of the original "Founders' Album" in existence. But then, founding member Bill MacIntosh stepped forward to donate what is likely the only remaining complete set of these historic recordings. Thank you, Bill!

Purchase the
Founders' Album

You can purcahse the Founders' Album and a Colgate 13 cloth patch for $20. Please contact Eric Seidman for more information.

This rare set of the earliest Thirteen recordings has been lovingly transferred and digitally enhanced for all to hear on this CD, and plans are taking shape to have Bill's original records placed on permanent display at 13 House.

You'll note that the compact disc begins with a new rendition of an old Colgate favorite, "1819." Bud Hedinger, class of '69, has rewritten the lyrics to pay tribute to the founding members.

In fact, it was Bud who initially contacted Bill, then traveled to Chicago to interview him, and hand carry his delicate records to Orlando, Florida, where experts painstakingly worked to save and restore this unique treasure. I was lucky enough to make that trip to Chicago with Bud, and will always remember Bill's hospitality, good humor, and love for the Thirteen. If I'm half the man Bill is when I'm ninety, I will be lucky indeed.

The new version of "1819" was recorded by the current group, led by Neil Krulewitz, class of '12. Well done, guys, and thanks.

May the music and the memory of our thirteen men of yore continue to make tradition that shall live forevermore.

Doug Wilson, Class of 1988
May, 2012


1. 1819 (Back In '42 Version)
2. George Jones
3. Mandy Lee
4. I Gotta Go Where You Are
5. Marine Corps Hymn
6. Colgate Days
7. Sing On
8. Evening Song
9. 1819
10. Twilight Song
11. When Day Is Done
12. Colgate Hymn
13. Bandolero
14. Way Down Yonder
15. Gathering Up The Roses
16. Army Air Corps Song

Lyrics (.pdf)